top of page

Weathered Souls


At first I had a very hard time deciding what I wanted the focus of this work to be. A few years prior, I was taking a dance class with a unit in ballet. I was thinking back to that class and how we all stood in a line preforming a routine designed to help us practice our pirouettes and other basic ballet moves. Just a short bit of choreography that we would repeat over and over again while standing in one spot until the end of a song. The memory of watching the class in the mirror, all in rows repeating the same thing in unison, gave me the inspiration I was seeking for “ Weathered Souls”.

I decided to paint rows of warn and faded Ballet slippers to represent what I remember of that dance class. It was a full class made up of a few with varying degrees of previous Ballet experience, but most of us were really only just beginning our dancing journey’s. I decided to represent some of the slippers as worn out to represent the experienced dancers, the others I left with very little detail and colour to represent the inexperience of the rest of us. For me, Ballet was a new experience, a hardly touched canvas that had so much potential to be exciting and challenging, or boring, distended to become another dropped hobby.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page