top of page

Mother Hen And Eggs

Recently I have wanted to work with a concept that is more personal to myself that I could wear more regularly. With this in mind I contemplated the things in my day to day life that I would consider very important or meaningful. The sports and physical activity I partake in, my job as a lifeguard, and the work I do as an artist / craftsman all came to mind. However, what stood out the most were the influential people that have come into my life from the Jewellery and Metals Department at Alberta College of Art + Design. For these individuals I made my most recent Jewellery piece conceptually based around the idea of Awards.

Although It was most likely a comment meant to tease me, I have been called the “Mother Hen” of our Jewellery group. This became my inspiration. For my self I have made a pendant with a reticulated silver hen, on the back is stamped the “MOTHER HEN AWARD”. To go along side this pendant I have also created a set of matching pendants for my peers. Each has a vermiculated brass egg, five of which are stamped with the “GOLDEN EGG AWARD”. And for a little bit of fun the last pendant is stated with the “ROTTEN EGG AWARD”.

Over this past year I have overcome several hardships, each time my Alberta College of Art + Design family has given me unwavering support. With them I know I will overcome many more, and with these pendants I wish to thank them for their unconditional camaraderie.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page